top of page
Search

Why I paint - just a few reasons


A short but sweet blog this week!


I think painting is something you build a passion for over time.


The first thing that pulled my in was how the paint flows on the surface its applied to. It’s like melted butter, so free. I get the same feeling of freedom from painting as I do when I ski.


I can manipulate the paint to do whatever I want because its so malleable and reactive. It is also extremely unforgiving as a medium as you cannot erase anything. It requires technique and I love the challenge. Over the years it has instilled a peaceful element of patience within me and how I view the world.


It’s amazing looking at a finished artwork and understanding that it just travelled out from my hand.


Paint allows me to project a unique journey onto something and freeze it, an outstanding moment in time.


Other reasons I paint:

- It's how I express myself in a safe space.

- It is extremely mindful.

- I can push myself to adapt and take on new challenges, only I can attempt.

- I have a signature style that is part of me.

- It is one of the purest forms to capture a scene or subject in.


This photo is of me whilst at uni, experimenting with how removing my sight affects how representational the finished painting is.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page